Minutes Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology March 6, 2004 Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Annual Business Meeting

- 1. Opening remarks: Dr. Kim Geisinger welcomed all the attendees and introduced Dr. Oertel, who will discuss her award.
- 2. The minutes for the 2003 meeting were approved.
- Secretary's report Claire W. Michael, M.D. Election results. Dr. Ursula Bedrossian was elected for Treasurer, and Drs. Martha Pitman, Michael Cohen and Sana Tabarra were elected for Members at Large.
- 4. Treasurer report Ursula Bedrossian, Ph.D.
 - A) The Society is financially solvent. A financial report was submitted for review by members. The membership is increasing every year.
 - B) A merchant account has been set and we hope to put it on the web site.
 - C) As of November 1st, 2003, the Society acquired the 501C3 status. Based on the submitted budget for 2003/2004, the meeting is mostly financed through funds and donations from vendors.
- 5. Reports of Committees and Task Forces.
 - A) International Committee Carlos Bedrossian, M.D.
 - 1) Dr. Carlos Bedrossian has completed the PSC exhibit for international meetings. The exhibit was completed through a \$2,000 grant from Wiley Publisher.
 - 2) The Society will be represented in the upcoming International Academy of Cytology in Chile (April), in the Intercontinental Congress of Pathology in Brazil (June), the International Academy of Pathology Meeting in Australia (November), and the European Congress of Cytology in Athens, Greece.
 - B) Dr. Abati announced the scientific sessions in the afternoon discussing the 4Ms.
 - C) Publication Committee Aylin Simsir, M.D.
 - 1) The Focus Newsletter will be supported through a renewed grant from Cytec of \$5000 to cover the next two issues.
 - 2) The publisher was changed for the March 2004 issue to reduce costs.
 - D) Research Award Sana Tabbara, M.D.

The Committee reviewed 30 abstracts and elected two winners.

- E) Committee of New Technology Dr. Daniel Kurtycz Additional items will be added to the web site, such as guidelines of committees and awards. There will be soliciting of new ideas from the membership.
- F) Committee of Practice Guidelines

Guidelines and protocols will be submitted for publication in Diagnostic Cytopathology.

G) New Business

a. Yolanda C. Oertel Award Interventional Cytopathologist Award – Yolanda Oertel, M.D. The award will be for "outstanding achievement as an interventional pathologist." It is designed to encourage pathologists to promote fine needle aspiration and acknowledge their accomplishments. Dr. Kim Geisinger presented Dr. Oertel with a flower bouquet.

- b. Dr. Beatrix Cochand-Priollet invited the participants to attend the European Congress of Cytology in France in October 2005.
- H) Meeting Adjourned